Embracing the Olympic Spirit

I am not a sports fan but I do love the Olympics, there is something about the spirit of the games that’s hypnotic. I find myself watching sports whenever I get the opportunity, which trust me in our household is unheard of.  We watched the opening ceremony last night, this fantastic production culminated in the most spectacular design that just took my breath away, I am talking about the cauldron designed by Thomas Heatherwick.

Seven young British athletes light the cauldron at the opening ceremony of the 2012 Olympic Games. Photograph: Leon Neal/AP

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/jul/28/london-2012-olympic-cauldron-bets-refunded

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/olympics/london-2012/9434325/London-2012-Thomas-Heatherwick-the-designer-behind-the-Olympic-cauldron-that-stunned-viewers.html

http://www.london2012.com/photos/day-by-day/todays-top.html#fireworks-are-set-off-around-the-olympic-stadium

My best friend @Gilsonthefirst has been working hard towards the Olympics for a long time.  Jo works for Adidas and Project Managed the Harrods window display.  I know how many hours of work that went into this massive project and I am so proud of her.

My Sister & Nephew were lucky enough to be able to have the opportunity to have their photo taken with the Olympic torch.  As Head of P.E and a sports fanatic I know what this meant to her.  She is passionate about sport and also passionate at providing the best opportunities for her students, I am very proud of her.

My nephew has cuaght her sports bug so who knows this maybe the face of an Olympic Hero of the future.

So as day one kicks off I feel Proud to be British – Go Team GB

Leave a Reply

